奈季兰地区

一个城市在 The Najran Province

参观的地方 奈季兰

一个城市在 The Najran Province

目的地在 奈季兰省

探索沙特阿拉伯的其他城市

艾卜哈
巴哈
霍巴尔
乌拉
布赖代
达曼
冰雹
吉赞
吉达
朱拜勒
麦地那
麦加
奈季兰地区
利雅得
塔布克
塔伊夫
延布

古老的 Al Ukhdood 遗址所在地

奈季兰是位于沙特阿拉伯南部靠近也门边境的绿洲城市。它是奈季兰省的首府,也是该国发展最快的城市之一。在早期,它被称为Abu As-Su'ud,只是一个贸易区。在成为沙特阿拉伯王国的一部分后,该地区被改造成拥有医院、学校、学院、大学、体育中心、公园和所有生活必需品的现代化城市。现在这座城市的人口正在迅速增长,由于其历史遗迹和各种地理景观,它也吸引了许多游客。

奈季兰的中心位置使其成为乳香和奢侈品没药商队贸易的焦点。它将也门的古老文明与新月沃地、地中海和亚洲国家联系起来。 Al Ukhdud(奈季兰的古名)通常被称为世界上最古老的城市之一。这座城市的遗迹揭示了有趣的雕刻和文物,让我们深入了解这片土地的史前人民。

历史

奈季兰的历史可以追溯到罗马人征服这座城市时的 4000 多年。在古代,这座城市被称为 Al Ukhdood。奈季兰是香火贸易路线的中心点。奈季兰是古代基督教和犹太社区的家园。伊斯兰教时期,公元7世纪,基督教徒与先知(愿主福安之)签订了奈季兰条约。有了这个协议,他们在新的穆斯林领土上获得了受保护的地位(dhimmi)。奈季兰也曾经是也门的制布中心。 Kiswah(神圣天房的布料曾经在这个以服装业闻名的地区生产。Najran 在 1924 年签署条约后成为沙特阿拉伯王国的一部分。

地理与文化

奈季兰的三种不同地理景观包括绿洲地区、山脉和沙漠。这里的气候是典型的沙漠气候,夏季炎热干燥,冬季短暂而相对温和。 Wadi Najran 位于郁郁葱葱的绿色砂拉越山脉和沙质鲁卜哈利 (Rub' Al-Khali) 的中心。这形成了从肥沃的地区到干旱的沙质沙漠的自然联系。奈季兰见证了不规则的降雨,但下雨时,砂拉越的支流汇合在一起,在山谷中形成真正流动的河流。

奈季兰拥有数百年来形成的独特文化。您可以在 Najran 的美食和传统中发现也门文化的巨大影响。

热门景点

Al Ukhdood 考古遗址包含世界上最古老的城市之一的遗迹。该遗址的历史可以追溯到 2000 多年前,在古兰经中的 Surah Al-Burooj 中也被提及。 Al-Ukhdood 被认为是一位犹太希米亚特国王活活烧死一群拒绝接受犹太教的虔诚基督徒的地方。奈季兰附近的著名遗址包括描绘马、骆驼、蛇和人手的各种文物和雕刻品。这里还发现了一座清真寺的遗迹,对该遗址的持续挖掘继续从该遗址中发现更多的考古宝藏。

Hima Wells 是 Najran 的另一个主要景点。 Hima 包含超过 34 个不同的地点,其中包括岩石和水井上的铭文。这些井已有 3000 多年的历史,是 Najran 沙漠地区的核心水源。他们曾经为贸易和朝圣的古老商队路线提供服务,令人惊讶的是,这些井中的一些甚至今天仍在继续提供淡水。希马已被联合国教科文组织列为世界遗产。

Najran Valley Dam是一座华丽的拱坝,位于Najran市西南约15公里处。具有蓄水、回灌地下水、防洪等重要功能。作为沙特阿拉伯最大的水坝之一,它是观光的好地方。埃玛拉宫现在对公众开放,还设有一个博物馆,向游客介绍这个地方的历史。这座宫殿建于 1944 年,当时该省成为王国的一部分。在此之前,该地点以一口古井而闻名。宫殿面积达 625 平方米,拥有 65 个房间,不仅是总督及其工作人员的住所,还包括警察和邮政部门。该市的其他热门景点包括 Ra'um 城堡和 As-Safa 公园。

奈季兰

Najran area

A city in The Najran Province

Places to Visit in Saudi Arabia

A city in The Najran Province

Top Recommendations

 

Restaurants:

See all
 

Activities:

See all

Home to the ancient Al Ukhdood ruins

Najran is an oasis city located in the south of Saudi Arabia near the border of Yemen. It is the capital of Najran province and is one of the fastest growing cities in the country. In the earlier times, it was called Abu As-Su’ud and was just a trading area. After becoming a part of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, this area was transformed into a modern city with hospitals, schools, colleges, universities, sports centers, parks, and all the necessities of life. Now the population of the city is rapidly growing and it also attracts a number of tourists due to its historic sites and variety of geographic landscapes. 

 

The central location of Najran made it the focal point of the caravan trade in frankincense and the luxury product myrrh. It connected the ancient civilization of Yemen, to the Fertile Crescent, Mediterranean, and Asian countries. Al Ukhdud (the ancient name for Najran) is often termed as one of the oldest cities in the world. The remains of this city have revealed interesting carvings and artifacts that give us an insight into the prehistoric people of the land.

 

History

Najran’s history can be traced back to over 4000 years when the Romans conquered the city. In ancient times the city was known by the name of Al Ukhdood. Najran was the center point of the Incense Trade Route. Najran was home to ancient Christian and Jewish communities. During the Islamic period, the Christians signed the Najran pact with the Holy Prophet (Peace Be Upon Him) in the 7th century. With this pact, they got a protected status (dhimmi) in the new Muslim territories. Najran also used to be the Yemeni center of cloth making. The Kiswah (cloth of the Holy Ka’aba used to be made in this area known for its garment industry. Najran became part of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia after signing a treaty in 1924.

 

Geography and Culture

The three different geographical landscapes of Najran include the oasis region, mountains, and desert. The climate here is the quintessential desert climate of a hot and dry summer paired with a short and relatively moderate winter. The Wadi Najran is at the center of the lush green Sarawat mountains and the sandy Rub' Al-Khali. This forms a natural link from the fertile areas to the arid, sandy desert. Najran witnesses irregular rainfall but when it rains, the tributaries of the Sarawat join together to form actual flowing rivers in the valley.  

 

Najran has a unique culture that has been shaped over centuries. You can find a great influence of the Yemeni culture in the cuisine and traditions of Najran. 

 

Popular Attractions

Al Ukhdood archaeological site contains the remains of one of the oldest cities in the world. Dated back to over 2000 years, this site has also been mentioned in the Quran in the Surah Al-Burooj. Al-Ukhdood is believed to be the place where a Jewish Himyarite king burnt alive a group of devout Christians for refusing to accept Judaism. The famous site near Najran includes various artifacts and carvings that depict a horse, a camel, snakes, and a human hand. The remains of a mosque have also been found here and ongoing excavation of the site continues to discover more archeological treasures from the site. 

 

Hima Wells is another major attraction of Najran. Hima contains over 34 different sites that include inscriptions on rocks and water wells. These wells are dated to be over 3000 years old are were a core source of water for the Najran desert region. They used to serve the ancient caravan routes for trade and pilgrimage and surprisingly some of these wells even continue to provide fresh water even today. Hima has been declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

 

Najran Valley Dam is a gorgeous arch dam located about 15 km to the southwest of Najran city. It serves the important functions of water storage, groundwater recharge, and flood control. Being one of the largest dams in Saudi Arabia, it is a good spot for sightseeing. The Emarah Palace is now open to the public and also contains a museum that tells visitors about the history of the place. This palace was built in 1944 after the province became a part of the Kingdom. The site was known for an ancient well before this. With its abundant area of 625 square meters and 65 rooms, the palace not only housed the governor and his staff but also the police and postal services. Other popular attractions of the city include the Ra'um Castle and the As-Safa park.